Outside my window

Outside my window

Winter takes a toll on gardeners, well I suppose on everyone but snow enthusiasts.  Most non-snow people tend to hunker down in the house and wait out the cold. Gardeners, however, miss their gardens. They  like to play with plants: sow seeds, wait for them to emerge, watch them grow.

You can’t do that through several feet of snow. And while winter gardens can provide beautiful views, there are only a few garden jobs for winter: maintain tools, prune trees and plan next summer’s garden.

So when I look out at all our snow, I need to think positive. I take comfort in the fact that the snow insulates the ground and gives the roots of plants protection. In areas with less snow, reoccuring thaws and freezes literally heave roots out of the soil.  There is an added bonus to winter-long snow cover: that bit of extra insulation lets me grow a wider variety of plants than if the ground was snow naked! Those plants that can stand freezing temperatures, just not the temperature lows my area can reach, often do quite well in my garden.

