I’ve been a member of ten garden clubs as I’ve moved around the country and have to say, I love garden clubs! I must admit the cliche of old women in garden club has some basis in fact as there seem to be many more women in garden clubs than men. But age doesn’t matter! I joined my first club when 27.

My clubs have all been part of the National Garden Clubs, Inc. organization. One club was in the Colorado Federation of Garden Clubs (Blue Spruce Garden Club of Colorado Springs, now defunct), five clubs with the Federated Garden Clubs of Missour, and the rest in Michigan Garden Clubs. If you love gardening, or just socializing and looking at gardens, I recommend joining a garden club to make friends, integrate into a community, and do some good for your community, your state and the U.S.

http://www.gardenclub.org/Home.aspx

