I’ve belonged to three wonderful design groups, Garden Guild in St. Louis, Missouri, West Michigan Flower Arrangers Guild in Jenison, Michigan and a group that met in Traverse City, MI. Designs groups are great because they keep your hand in the game of making designs. These are not your local florist type designs, but competitive and display designs following specific rules as laid out in the National Garden Clubs, Inc.’s Handbook for Flower Show Judges.
Today, most of my former clubs are a bit far for me to travel.
So I decided to form my own Group, My Design Group. For this, I asked the local library if I could place my designs there, and Barb S. said she would be glad to have them.

So at the first meeting of My Design Group on July 3, I placed my design and left it in place over the July 4th weekend. Here is my try at a line-mass design, titled 4th Fireworks.

4th Fireworks line-mass design

4th Fireworks line-mass design

Would I award it a blue? I don’t think so. There are a couple major flaws, too open in the middle, needed another mum at container’s edge in front, but it is close. That’s why I have to keep practicing.

