August flowers

August flowers


August is almost over, but I still have lots of color in my flower beds. The beds improve every year although I move plants so often, they seldom have time to put down roots. The photo shows one of my favorite plant combinations. The daylily is ‘Fran Hals’ and is a great bloomer that began blooming the last week of July and looks like it will continue until the last week of August.

The coneflowers and daylilies have been spectacular this summer, and the Russian sage adds just a touch of soothing blue. I also had Liatris spikes adding a darker purple and lavender to the gardens. There isn’t too much blooming left, but I have a lot of Autumn Joy sedum which will carry September and October.

As for our hottest month, it hasn’t been. We’ve had one week of temperatures into the eighties. Very cold night temperatures dropped into the forties several times. My tomatoes may not ripen due to the cold, and even with all the rain we’ve had, my apples are dwarfed. I’m praying for a relatively long and warm September. I’d sure like to can or freeze some tomatoes and make applesauce out of all those tiny apples.

