I became the Parliamentarian for MGC beginning with the last term. Then I missed a few board meetings because I was hired as a part time instructor at a local community college. Earlier this April I took up my post for the State Board Meeting; Ouch! Trial by fire!

I’m not a registered Parliamentarian, although I’m beginning to work towards becoming one. Our bylaws do no demand that, only that the meeting follows Robert’s Rules. I am reading and studying Robert’s Rules, and I admit I still have much to learn, although I have the basics under control. Sometimes.

I thought this job was much easier than it is turning out to be, but I want to do it right. Next meeting is the MGC Annual Meeting in late May. It’s a good thing my classes have ended so I can concentrate on reading! Know what the hardest part is? Keeping my thoughts to myself and my mouth shut!

