Have you eaten daylilies? To be clear this is Hemerocallis fulva and its kin, not lilies from the Lillium family. These ‘Ditch Lily’ daylilies have been very abundant in my garden this year.

H. fulva commonly called ditch lily, a wide spread non-native plant. Those buds in the background are what you want to harvest.

H. fulva commonly called ditch lily, a wide spread non-native plant, the buds in the background are what you want to harvest.


I sort of remember from a long time ago that they were edible, but never tried them and forgot the ‘fact.’ I ran across recipe information recently, and it came back to mind while I’ve been removing the spent blossoms on all of my daylilies. Standing there, sweating in the recent heat, I decided to go for it and nibbled some unopened blossoms. Didn’t drop dead or grab my stomach and moan. Nope. Hmmm; not bad. I thought my taste buds sensed a mild celery flavor without the harsh crunch or strings of that vegetable.
Although there is a definite texture, I thought it more radish like. I had some in my dinner salad. Tomorrow we may have sauteed buds: gently saute the buds in butter or olive oil, add salt an pepper to taste and put on the plate.

Anyone have other daylily recipes?

Daylilies in drive circle garden.

Daylilies in drive circle garden.

